Carpal Tunnel

The title says it all. Several days ago, my hands and wrists started getting achy, and currently are experiencing minor pain and moderate discomfort. After much research, I have determined the best thing I can do is to avoid activities that led to the carpal tunnel in the first place, such as typing and playing video games.

While I don’t want to take any more time off, the best thing I can do for myself is to temporarily postpone An Orc’s Life until I can get an evaluation from a real doctor, and not just a website. Let this be a warning to others who might be like me. I knew what could cause carpal tunnel, but was arrogant enough to think it wouldn’t happen to me. The biggest thing is to exercise daily, and, of course, do hand/arm stetches/exercises before long bouts of keyboarding, while also taking breaks in between to do more stretches/exercises. If you get it, even typing a few paragraphs like this can be uncomfortable.

All that being said, I’m really going to try and think up ways to keep publishing content. It might not be through An Orc’s Life, because I have several other ideas floating around in my head. If I do think of anything, it would have to be minimal typing, or perhaps I could turn to voice recording. I just don’t know. This sucks. Feel free to leave any thoughts, suggestions, or miraculous cures for carpal tunnel in the comments. Thanks for reading, guys.

P.S. During my hiatus, don’t forget to check out the people in my Skyrim Links section on the right-hand side of my page for more Skyrim goodness.

14 thoughts on “Carpal Tunnel

  1. I am sorry to hear about your hands. I hope they get better soon and we can learn more about Grawnks hardships in Skyrim.

  2. Sorry as well,its the most anoying thing i manage to do.play on the computer for 7 hours straight.wake up next morning and i cant do anything on the computer.Hope you get better soon.

  3. Ouch, sorry to hear about your pain. I had two wrist surgeries when I was in my early twenties. It wasn’t for Carpal Tunnel but there was some PT I had to do daily that made my wrists hurt for a few seconds then the joy and relie was amazing. I don’t know if it will help with your situation but i dont think it could hurt.

    Rub on some Icey Hot and do a deep massage on the injured areas(better if you have someone else do it since your hands are the ones hurting) after that get you can get a small vibrating massager, like the ones you use on your back but smaller since you want to use it on your hands. You get some lotion and put it on your injured areas and rub it in slowly using the micro massager.

    Like i said I don’t know if that will help but it helped me a lot when I had my surgeries, fair warning it will hurt a lot at first but if done right will feel so much better once it is over.

    Hope you feel better.

    • Oh my. I really hope I don’t have to have surgery. I’m sorry you had to. It sounds rough.

      I really appreciate your feedback and suggestions. While I don’t have anyone who could massage it, the icy hot and lotion seem like a good idea. I will have to pick some up. So how are your wrists these days?

      • I didn’t have surgery for CT, I had mine from the tendons tearing off the bone after 10 or so garage doors fell on me in a garage door warehouse. They are good now for the most part still have stiffness but I am told I only lost 7-10% mobility with them. Though on bad days it feels like i have spikes in my wrists…which I do but meh LOL

  4. I had a crippling carpal tunnel-like problem several years ago. It sucks, but wrist braces helped. I also had some prescription strength ointment. I hope you feel better soon and get back to writing. You can use your writing-free time to catch up on Elspeth’s story.

    • Man, it seems like getting wrist/hand problems is a rite of passage in the writing community. How long did it take you to get over your bout of CTS? I did buy one brace for my most affected hand, and am typing with it now. It certainly helps.

      An excellent suggestion. If it seems like I’ve been progressing slowly through your blog, it’s partly because I wish to prolong it as long as I can. It’s rather good.

  5. It was a long time before mine went away but I was taking care of a newborn (which was pretty much the case of the CTS) and couldn’t really rest it properly.

    I’m so glad you like my story. Of course, read it at your own place. But it’s probably going to be somewhat on the long side. I’m going to take her through three major quests in addition to all the relationships and stories I’m developing.

    I hope your hand is feeling better.

    • But what if I want to read it at somebody else’s place?

      That sounds fine to me. I look forward to seeing how everything plays out.

      I have been doing wrist strengthening exercises to some effect, but when I tried playing Skyrim again, the pain came back to my fingers. Hopefully I’ll have better luck with a more ergonomic set-up which is forthcoming.

Leave a Reply

