On Writing

Let me begin by being blunt. I have all but lost inspiration to continue this blog. That being said, there’s still a chance I may work on it again. But at this point, I feel I owe those of you who still care an explanation. In the town I was previously living in, I had no friends, lived by myself, and worked full time, with my work keeping me on a third shift schedule (overnight). All of these things left me feeling pretty lonely and isolated most of the time. Luckily, I had video games and you guys to keep me company.

I moved back to my hometown a few months ago, and my circumstances have drastically changed. I have friends and family here, and it’s been great getting to interact with people again. However, this has made my reasons for writing this blog mostly disappear. And to an extent, I associate this blog with those more melancholy times, making it harder still for me to revisit Grawnk and his non-adventures. That may sound silly, but it’s just how the brain works, or mine anyway.

Lastly, for those wondering, my so-called Carpal Tunnel is mostly gone. I say “so-called” because what I had was most likely a Repetitive Stress Injury. Once I got back to my hometown, I began riding my bike for exercise, doing yard work and other things with my hands, and I found that the pain went away. The ergonomic keyboard helps too for those long video game sessions.

I appreciate all of you who have followed Grawnk along the way. It’s been a lot of fun. This won’t be the last you hear from me, so instead of a goodbye, how about a see you later instead.

Sincerely,

Kit

and Grawnk too

6 thoughts on “On Writing

  1. Having friends and family is good. I hope you find time and inspiration to write soon. I recently finished Book One of Elspeth’s adventures and even though it’s fan fiction it is so satisfying. Anyway, you know how to get in touch with me if you feel inclined to write again but you just need a kick in the pants to get started.

  2. Well I can’t say I am not disappointed but I completely understand; having friends and family and not being depressed is awesome and I am glad for you. I hope to see more Grawnk but no pressure; I am just glad to know you’re doing better.

  3. The funny thing about being a writer is that once you think you’ve made a clean break away, like a fish on a hook, you’ll only get so far. It is good to have family and friends nearby. Beyond my wife, our closest family and friend is one state away. I do write more in their absence, but I still write when they are around.

    I’ll keep checking here for when anything new is posted. As you said, “instead of a goodbye, how about a see you later.”

    • That is a very accurate way of describing it, because just two weeks later I wrote another post, making a somewhat-liar out of myself. I am slowly figuring out how to incorporate writing, family/friends, and of course, good ol’ fashioned procrastination.

      I really appreciate your interest, and I hope you enjoy what you find here.

Leave a Reply

