Day 6 of 28DCD: Religion and/or Spirituality

Simply put, Grawnk is not religious or spiritual. He never made a conscious decision one way or another concerning whether or not to pursue religion though. When other Orcs were bickering over worshiping Malacath or Trinimac, Grawnk was content to read books, and expand his intellectual pursuits. He acknowledges that the gods most probably exist, but much like second helpings at a big dinner, he passes on them. To him, it is much more appealing and satisfying that he is solely responsible for his own destiny.

I know this is short, but I mean, there’s not really much else to say. But to make up for the brevity, I will attempt to answer a submitted question.

“As a progressive Orc, is it hard to understand the thoughts and actions of your fellow orcs?”

It’s a good and fair question. I feel that Grawnk sometimes is judgmental of his more baser brethren, and it actually bothers him when he has those feelings. He has to remind himself that he is first of all, not a full-blooded Orc, and secondly, that he was raised completely differently than most other Orcs.

But to answer the question, yes; it is very hard for him to understand. Possessing the amount of knowledge and intelligence that he has, that anyone would act in a way Grawnk wouldn’t, astonishes him. That being the case, Grawnk fancies himself a bit of an Orcish ambassador, trying to allay common misconceptions, stereotypes, or plain old bigotry directed at Orcs in general.

Other 28DCD posts can be found here.

Be sure to follow me on twitter, and here on WordPress, to stay up to date with Grawnk and this blog. Click here if you would like to find other stories like mine. Likes, comments, and follows are also greatly appreciated.

5 thoughts on “Day 6 of 28DCD: Religion and/or Spirituality

  1. I like the idea of the inner-struggle about Orc culture. I look forward to seeing more of that in the story, if you plan to do that. I also love the idea of an Orc ambassador. He should go to the College–not to become a Mage, but to meet Urag. He will need a spell to get by Faralda though.

    • I could probably think of a way to introduce that struggle. I’ll have to mull it over. I remember about a few months or so after I started my blog, I made a mage character, and was impressed by Urag when I started interacting with him. Very similar to Grawnk, if not a little (lot) more grumpy.

  2. LOL I love the comparison of passing on the worship of gods like passing on seconds at dinner, for some reason that just made my day. Love your answer to the question, I can totally see Grawnk being the ambassador of the Orsimer.

Leave a Reply

