Day 15 of 28 DCD: Modern Day Playlist

So the task for today is to “make a playlist of songs that remind you of your character or your story, or share stuff you listen to while you write, your character’s entrance music, exit music, relationship music, etc.”

This is something I’ve honestly never thought about, so I don’t know how well it will turn out. The easiest for me to answer is the music I listen to while I write. I listen to the Claude Debussy station on Pandora. Classical music helps me concentrate, and the Debussy station in particular has a nice blend of classical and other more modern compositions. Sometimes I will also listen to Elder Scrolls themed music/soundtracks, or youtube videos. Here are a few youtube videos I have listened to in the past:

Morrowind/Skyrim Theme Piano Violin Medley – Taylor Davis and Lara

The Elder Scrolls III Morrowind Theme

The Hobbit – Misty Mountains (Cold) + Main theme

Lara, Taylor and Malukah play ‘Fear Not This Night’ from Guild Wars 2

_________________________________________________________________________

Playlist of songs that remind me of Grawnk or my story:

Courage the Cowardly Dog intro – Obviously, this isn’t really a song, but Grawnk the Cowardly Orc was a possible blog title I was initially mulling over. I knew before I started it that I wanted my Orc character, (unnamed at the time) to be cowardly, and I was obviously inspired by Courage. Fun fact: Grawnk was originally going to be called “Bawnk.”

Skyrim Bard Raps – Dan Bull – Just because. No real relation here.

Nord Mead – miracleofsound – Grawnk likes to drink: no other associations.

“Weird Al” Yankovic – White & Nerdy – I guess this is more a jab at me and my writing style.

Everclear – Father of Mine – Because of Grawnk’s daddy issues.

Arcade Fire – In the Backseat -2005/05/11 – This song makes me think of how Arliah felt when she lost her parents. I really recommend everyone give this song a listen all the way though. It is bereavement incarnate, and it’s one of my favorite performances ever.

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Teach Your Children

I couldn’t think of anything for Grawnk’s entrance or exit music. The fact that I just got distracted by a one hour segue of listening to music on youtube, followed by Between Two Ferns didn’t help. If I think of some later, I’ll go back and include it here.

Other 28DCD posts can be found here.

Be sure to follow me on twitter, and here on WordPress, to stay up to date with Grawnk and this blog. Click here if you would like to find other stories like mine. Likes, comments, and follows are also greatly appreciated.

4 thoughts on “Day 15 of 28 DCD: Modern Day Playlist

  1. White and nerdy is the best song every written about anything anywhere ever. Then End. Fin.

    Also, you already must know how I feel about Arcade Fire considering that they are one of the few bands who have the honor of creating two songs that became chapter titles.

    • I’ve just run into the one title thus far, but they are truly a band of epic proportions. Weird Al’s my homeboy. If this prompt was list the playlist of your middle school years, there would have only been Weird Al songs on the list.

Leave a Reply

